Oh Alma

“Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.”                    – T.S Elloit

Although we were run off our feet, there were many memorable and funny moments that made us forget about the life we could not keep up to. Some came in the form of encountering medical issues for the first time and learning how to deal with them. To the seasoned farmer, a prolapse is no surprise or a big issue. For the first time farmer, seeing it for the first time is like “aaaah….. what the heck is that?”

The loving family that we purchased our sheep from gave most of them names and wrote their names on their ear tags. This was so sweet and it made things easier when trying to identify one sheep from another. As we got to know the sheep better, we found that often their names matched their personalities. Like Madonna; she had black around her eyes that looked like mascara and she was a real diva, very bossy. Agusta was a good mom and lambed very nicely. But poor Alma… Alma needs to stop smoking; she has been wheezing since the day we got her and she looks like she had a hard paper run. The day I went out to the barn and saw a red organ hanging from her backside… Oh Lord… I thought to myself “oooh-kay… what do I do about this?” So I did what became a weekly event; I took a picture of it and sent it to my vet with a series of question marks as my text. He told me it was not a big deal, just a prolapsed vagina and that he was sending out some students to show me how to put it back in!!! – Oh my goodness…

The vet and her students were fantastic and showed me exactly what I had to do the next time it happened; because it would happen again! This was not something I was supposed to spend money on a vet for every time it happened.

Sure enough… the next day… guess what I had to deal with?? A text message conversation between my best friend Rebecca and I that day went something like this:

Becca: We (her and my old co-workers) are on our way to Quebec City for an ice dive. I wish you were here! I am just telling the guys about the time we took our road trip to Ontario!
Me: Agh… fun! I wish I was there too; instead I have to deal with this! * inserted the picture I took for the vet.
Becca: oh my god! WHAT IS THAT!???
Me: It’s her vagina…. pushed out… I have to put it back in…
Becca: omg omg omg… gross gross gross!! I just showed the guys… omg… why did that happen ???

Texting complete. I needed help. I got on the phone and called my cousin Carla. I managed to stop laughing long enough to ask her if she wanted to come help me. Within minutes she was down and changed into barn clothes. While I did what I had to do (trying to remember all the details the vet shared with me), Carla helped keep the sheep from moving around while singing it lullabies. Oh… how a camera would have been a good idea…

As a matter of fact, now that I think of it, our sheep were subject to a lot of serenading in the last year. During lambing, while I helped one that was having trouble, my mom put Marcel in the carrier on her back and came to the barn to help me; her method to relax the sheep was the same!

I guess now when people mock and ask “can we provide them with animals that were treated with kindness and who’s ears we rubbed while signing kumbaya ?”
hmmm… as a matter of fact we can!

Meet Fred. He’s our lack-there-of guard dog! He is 13 months old, has too much energy and we can’t keep him in any pen that does not have a roof because he can jump and climb over everything. We cannot wait to get our pasture fences up, more so for him then for the sheep!  If you come over and he happens to run and jump on you, we are very sorry! We are working on that and try to keep him in the barn and in the field to avoid this from happening. He’s kind of a pest that we just happen to love! Any advice on raising Great Pyrenees is welcomed! 

DSC_0044

